the arrowhead cocktail

Tonight’s concoction is done two ways, ginned up and virginal.

First up is a mixture of gin, sage, lemon, and ginger liqueur inspired by the mixture of clouds and sun that characterized the weather today. The sage, picked from the bush in my backyard, lends a very fragrant, almost medicinal note that can overpower the drink so be careful not to use too much. I’m gonna call this an Arrowhead, because the sage leaf kind of look like the feather of arrow’s shaft, and because one of my favorite places to walk with my dog, Sheba, is along Arrowhead marsh on the Oakland side of San Francisco Bay. (If this drink is called something else already, I’m not familiar with it so please don’t spoil my fun by telling me.)

Start by muddling one large sage leaf gently in the bottom of your mixer. Then add 2 ounces of gin, 3/4 ounce lemon juice, 3/4 ounce ginger liqueur. Fill shaker with ice, shake it up good, and pour through a strainer into your cocktail glass. Top with a fresh sage leaf.

For the virgin Arrowhead I made a ginger simple syrup. To do that, take equal parts sugar and water, throw in some fresh peeled ginger and heat that up on the stove for a minute until the sugar dissolves completely. Let it cool down, then put it in the fridge for awhile and let that ginger fully release it’s good stuff. Like overnight. I mean it, don’t touch it!

Muddle the sage lightly in the bottom of a rocks glass, add an ounce or so of fresh lemon juice, an ounce of ginger simple syrup, ice, and water to not quite the top. Stir it up, then add a splash or two of club soda to give it some fizz. Top with another fresh sage leaf.

Enjoy!

P.S. I have to give props to my friend, Mark, who made the ginger liqueur himself and gave me some last Christmas.  Yum! You can find the recipe on Imbibe Magazine’s website here

Leave a Reply

