love is in the air (and in the glass)

I posted this on my Facebook page on Valentine’s Day but never got around to making it official. Better late then never, as they say. This was quite lovely and multi-layered, just like a good romantic relationship ought to be. But also like romance, it all became a bit muddled and confusing as I didn’t bother to write down the exact ingredients that went into making this drink.

So, anyhoo…here it is:

2 oz of cucumber-mint infused vodka*
1 oz lemon juice
1/2 oz Chambord
1/4 oz St. George’s raspberry liqueur (cause I ran out of Chambord)
dash of grapefruit bitters
Garnish with plum blossoms

*Thanks to my friend, Susan, who was raving about an elderflower martini that she was served at some fancy restaurant, I have stolen the idea of the cucumber-infused vodka and added the mint because why not? Take half a large cucumber, remove the skin and the seeds, chop into chunks and drop into a jar. Add enough vodka to cover the cucumber, crush 2-3 sprigs of mint to release the oils, and drop them into the mix. Store in the refrigerator for 24 hours or so before using. It will keep for several days, maybe I week. I have no idea because I ended up using it rather quickly when friends came over.

Happy spring and love to all!

Leave a Reply

